The Vezina Trophy Collection

A lifelong goal in jersey collecting

The Vezina Trophy is an annual award given to "the goalkeeper adjudged to be the best at his position" as voted by the general managers of all NHL clubs.

Leo Dandurand, Louis Letourneau, and Joe Cattarinich, former owners of the Montreal Canadiens, presented the trophy to the National Hockey League in 1926-27 in memory of Georges Vezina, outstanding goalkeeper of the Canadiens, who collapsed during an NHL game Nov. 28, 1925, and died of tuberculosis a few months later.

Year Player Team
2013 Sergei Bobrovsky Columbus Blue Jackets
2012 Henrik Lundqvist New York Rangers
2011 Tim Thomas Boston Bruins
2010 Ryan Miller Buffalo Sabres
2009 Tim Thomas Boston Bruins
2008 Martin Brodeur New Jersey Devils
2007 Martin Brodeur New Jersey Devils
2006 Miikka Kiprusoff Calgary Flames
2004Martin BrodeurNew Jersey Devils
2003Martin BrodeurNew Jersey Devils
2002Jose TheodoreMontreal Canadiens
2001Dominik HasekBuffalo Sabres
2000Olaf KolzigWashington Capitals
1999Dominik HasekBuffalo Sabres
1998Dominik HasekBuffalo Sabres
1997Dominik HasekBuffalo Sabres
1996Jim CareyWashington Capitals
1995Dominik HasekBuffalo Sabres
1994Dominik HasekBuffalo Sabres
1993Ed BelfourChicago Blackhawks
1992Patrick RoyMontreal Canadiens
1991Ed BelfourChicago Blackhawks
1990Patrick RoyMontreal Canadiens
1989Patrick RoyMontreal Canadiens
1988Grant FuhrEdmonton Oilers
1987Ron HextallPhiladelphia Flyers
1986John VanbiesbrouckNew York Rangers
1985Pelle LindberghPhiladelphia Flyers
1984Tom BarrassoBuffalo Sabres
1983Pete PeetersBoston Bruins
1982Billy SmithNew York Islanders
1981 Denis Herron
Michel Larocque
Richard Sevigny
Montreal Canadiens
1980Don Edwards
Bob Sauve
Buffalo Sabres
1979Ken Dryden
Michel Larocque
Montreal Canadiens
1978Ken Dryden
Michel Larocque
Montreal Canadiens
1977Ken Dryden
Michel Larocque
Montreal Canadiens
1976Ken DrydenMontreal Canadiens
1975Bernie ParentPhiladelphia Flyers
1974Bernie ParentPhiladelphia Flyers
Tony EspositoChicago Blackhawks
1973Ken DrydenMontreal Canadiens
1972Tony Esposito
Gary Smith
Chicago Blackhawks
1971Ed Giacomin
Gilles Villemure
New York Rangers
1970Tony EspositoChicago Blackhawks
1969Glenn Hall
Jacques Plante
St. Louis Blues
1968Lorne Worsley
Rogatien Vachon
Montreal Canadiens
1967Denis DeJordy
Glenn Hall
Chicago Blackhawks
1966Charlie Hodge
Lorne Worsley
Montreal Canadiens
1965Johnny Bower
Terry Sawchuk
Toronto Maple Leafs
1964Charlie HodgeMontreal Canadiens
1963Glenn HallChicago Blackhawks
1962Jacques PlanteMontreal Canadiens
1961Johnny BowerToronto Maple Leafs
1960Jacques PlanteMontreal Canadiens
1959Jacques PlanteMontreal Canadiens
1958Jacques PlanteMontreal Canadiens
1957Jacques PlanteMontreal Canadiens
1956Jacques PlanteMontreal Canadiens
1955Terry SawchukDetroit Red Wings
1954Harry LumleyToronto Maple Leafs
1953Terry SawchukDetroit Red Wings
1952Terry SawchukDetroit Red Wings
1951Al RollinsToronto Maple Leafs
1950Bill DurnanMontreal Canadiens
1949Bill DurnanMontreal Canadiens
1948Turk BrodaToronto Maple Leafs
1947Bill DurnanMontreal Canadiens
1946Bill DurnanMontreal Canadiens
1945Bill DurnanMontreal Canadiens
1944Bill DurnanMontreal Canadiens
1943Johnny MowersDetroit Red Wings
1942Frank BrimsekBoston Bruins
1941Turk BrodaToronto Maple Leafs
1940Dave KerrNew York Rangers
1939Frank BrimsekBoston Bruins
1938Tiny ThompsonBoston Bruins
1937Normie SmithDetroit Red Wings
1936Tiny ThompsonBoston Bruins
1935Lorne ChabotChicago Blackhawks
1934Charlie GardinerChicago Blackhawks
1933Tiny ThompsonBoston Bruins
1932Charlie GardinerChicago Blackhawks
1931Roy WortersNew York Americans
1930Tiny ThompsonBoston Bruins
1929George HainsworthMontreal Canadiens
1928George HainsworthMontreal Canadiens
1927George HainsworthMontreal Canadiens
Note: awarded to goalie who played a minimum of 25 games for the team that allowed the fewest goals; since 1982, awarded to outstanding goalie.